滚动顶部

金博士的行动讯息

华盛顿特区:马丁·路德·金纪念碑

正如马丁·路德·金,Jr.临近这一天,我情不自禁地回想起过去的一年,特别是自以色列与哈马斯战争爆发以来我们的员工所感受到的冲突和压力的最后三个月。每年,在马丁·路德·金纪念日之前的星期五,我们都会为员工计划一天的服务,以加强彼此之间的友谊、同志情谊和同情心,同时支持多个社区非营利组织的工作。

当我反思当今世界我们可以从马丁·路德·金身上学到什么时,我为我们的组织创造了聚集在一起为他人服务的机会而感到自豪。它肯定了我们对非营利部门工作的热情,加强了我们的同事关系,并明确提醒我们组织所信奉的价值观:人类生命的价值、培养社区意识和修复我们的世界。

当我写这篇文章时,在一场以深刻且截然不同的方式影响我们每个人的战争中,我必须承认,作为一个犹太组织,严格坚持我们的价值观是多么巨大的挑战。我们生活在一个极其困难的世界,这个世界饱受传染病的蹂躏,许多人获得医疗保健(精神和其他方面)的机会有限,政治两极分化,性侵犯,以及导致生命损失的战争。虽然我无意淡化之前发生的事情,但毫无疑问,过去四年充满了更深层次的分歧和孤立——因为许多人甚至很难呆在同一个房间里,更不用说分享他们情绪困扰的原因了。 。但用马丁·路德·金的话来说,“人们之所以无法相处,是因为他们彼此恐惧;他们因为不认识而互相畏惧;他们不认识彼此,因为他们没有互相交流过。” 

JFCS 一直并将继续为 每个人 在我们的社区中——无论性别、种族、社会经济地位或信仰。因为在我们内心深处,我们相信没有什么比人的生命更珍贵或更神圣的了。这是我们的共同点。同时,根据我们自己的生活经历和价值观,这对我们每个人来说意味着不同的和个人的。

作为这个历史悠久且卓有成就的组织的首席执行官,我敏锐地意识到过去三个月我们员工中存在的安静动荡。我们并肩工作,同时对世界上这场最新的悲剧持有截然不同的看法。

随着马丁·路德·金纪念日的临近,我个人正在利用这位强大领导者的价值观来将我们组织中的每个人联系起来。金寻求平等和人权——不仅是为了非裔美国人,也是为了 全部 不公正的受害者,这是社会工作者在进入这个行业时所承诺的。金还代表着正直、服务至上、精益求精以及对所有人的同情心。当那些为我们组织工作的人们努力应对战争带来的悲剧以及我们对和平的渴望时,反思金的遗产是多么合适。观点的差异和生活经历的差异将永远是我们作为专业人士的集体现实的一部分。然而,我们如何在这些差异中发挥对彼此的同情心才是真正的工作。我们的任务不是让彼此相信谁是对是错,而是找到方法来重视彼此的经历和真相,以消除我们世界上的仇恨。

愿对马丁·路德·金的记忆永远成为实现这一目标的灵感。

返回领导力视角

Chinese

Scroll Top

Dr. King’s Message in Action

Washington, DC: The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial

As Martin Luther King ,Jr. Day approaches, I can’t help but reflect on this past year – specifically the last three months of strife and stress that our employees have felt since the onset of the Israel-Hamas war. Each year, the Friday before MLK Day, we plan a day of service for our staff members to strengthen the bonds of friendship, comradery, and compassion for each other, while supporting the work of multiple community non-profits.

As I reflect on what we can learn from Martin Luther King in the midst of today’s world, I am proud of our organization for creating opportunities to come together in service to others. It affirms our passion for working in the non-profit sector, strengthens our collegial relationships, and serves as a stark reminder of the values our organization embraces: the value of human life, fostering a sense of community, and repairing our world.

As I write this piece, in the midst of a war that has affected each of us in profound and vastly different ways, I must acknowledge how deeply challenging it has been to hold tightly to our values as a Jewish organization. We live in an extremely troubled world, one that is ravaged by contagious illness, limited access to healthcare (mental and otherwise) for many, political polarization, sexual assault, and wars leading to loss of life. While I don’t intend to minimize what came before, there’s no question that the past four years have been fraught with even deeper divisiveness and isolation – as many struggle to even stay in the same room, let alone share the causes of their emotional distress. But in the words of Martin Luther King, “People fail to get along because they fear each other; they fear each other because they don’t know each other; they don’t know each other because they have not communicated with each other.” 

JFCS has always, and will continue to, serve everyone in our community – regardless of gender, race, socioeconomic status, or creed. Because at our core, we believe there is nothing more precious or sacred than a human life. This is our common thread. At the same time, what that means to each of us is different and personal based on our own life experiences and values.

As the CEO of this long-standing and accomplished organization, I am keenly aware of the quiet turbulence that has existed amongst our staff over the past three months. We work alongside each other while sharing very different views of this most current tragedy in our world.

As Martin Luther King, Jr. Day approaches, I am personally tapping into this powerful leader’s values to connect each individual in our organization. King sought equality and human rights – not just for African Americans but for all victims of injustice, something that social workers commit to as they enter the profession. King also stood for integrity, service before self, excellence in all that we do, and compassion for all. How fitting then to reflect on King’s legacy as those who work for our organization grapple with the tragedies that war brings along with our desire for peace.  Difference of opinion and difference of life experience will always be a part of our collective reality as professionals. Yet how we draw upon our sense of compassion for one another in the midst of these differences is the true work. Our task is not to convince each other of who is right and wrong, but to find ways to value each other’s experiences and truths to eliminate hate in our world.

May the memory of Martin Luther King Jr. forever serve as an inspiration towards this goal.

Return to The Leadership Lens

English