滚动顶部


历史

1983 年,犹太儿童协会 (AJC) 和犹太家庭服务处 (JFS) 合并,成为今天的大费城犹太家庭和儿童服务处。

AJC 的根源可以追溯到 1855 年,当时慈善家和犹太教育家丽贝卡·格拉茨 (Rebecca Gratz) 创立了其前身犹太福斯特之家 (Jewish Foster Home),这是该国第一家照顾犹太儿童的机构。该之家与几个犹太儿童服务组织合并,并于 1941 年成立了犹太儿童协会。

JFS 成立于 1869 年,当时名为联合希伯来慈善机构,成立的目的是为有需要的人提供食品、衣服、燃料、医疗援助和其他援助。到 1920 年,该机构已从一个以志愿者为主的组织发展成为一个拥有训练有素的社会工作者的专业组织。 1948 年,该机构更名为费城犹太家庭服务处,提供咨询、家庭主妇帮助、老年人服务、志愿者计划和犹太家庭生活教育。

由于 AJC 和 JFS 都是为儿童和家庭服务,因此这两个组织合并成为 JFCS,这是一个在生命周期的各个阶段为个人、儿童和家庭提供服务的综合机构。

Chinese

History

In 1983 the Association for Jewish Children (AJC) and Jewish Family Service (JFS) merged to become today’s Jewish Family and Children’s Service of Greater Philadelphia.

The roots of AJC can be traced back to 1855 when philanthropist and Jewish educator Rebecca Gratz founded its predecessor agency, the Jewish Foster Home, the first institution in the country to care for Jewish children. The Home merged with several Jewish children’s service organizations and the Association for Jewish Children was formed in 1941.

JFS began in 1869 as United Hebrew Charities, and was established to provide food, clothing, fuel, medical assistance, and other aid to those in need. By 1920, the agency had evolved from a largely volunteer organization to a professional organization with trained social workers. By 1948, when the agency became Jewish Family Service of Philadelphia, it offered counseling, homemaker help, services for older adults, a volunteer program, and Jewish family life education.

Since both AJC and JFS were serving children and families, the two organizations merged to become JFCS, one comprehensive agency serving individuals, children, and families through all phases of the lifecycle.