滚动顶部

JFCS 将推出在线“成人礼市场”

日期:2014 年 11 月 19 日
作者:阿米沙·戈特利布

向有需要的人捐赠床垫? $18。
为陷入困境的家庭提供冬季护理包? $500。
准确了解您的慈善资金的去向并教导您的孩子如何捐赠?无价。Market

至少,这是大费城犹太家庭和儿童服务机构在 12 月 2 日推出新的在线“成人礼市场”时所追求的目标。

该市场可通过 jfcsphilly.org 访问,个人捐助者可以选择购买 55 种物品中的任何一种,这些物品将直接送到 JFCS 的七个服务区域之一,包括大屠杀幸存者和老年人、残疾人、儿童和青少年和关键需求。

“我们的目标是让捐赠成为人们现在参与的方式,”JFCS 营销和传播副总裁 Suzanne Myers 说。 “人们希望真正参与他们如何捐钱。”

该机构考虑将这个市场作为其新网站的一部分推出,该网站计划于 12 月底推出。但官员们决定将市场开放时间推迟到“#GivingTuesday”,该活动旨在继感恩节后的“黑色星期五”和“网络星期一”消费狂欢之后,发起一场专注于慈善捐赠的全国和国际运动。

“我们真的很想利用 #GivingTuesday 及其所获得的势头,”迈尔斯解释道。

总部位于 Willow Grove 的埃文斯咨询集团 (Evans Consulting Group) 总裁、Giving USA 编辑审查委员会成员罗伯特·埃文斯 (Robert Evans) 最近在《Jewish Exponent》上发表了一篇评论文章,题为“#GivingTuesday 即将到来:你准备好了吗?”他在其中概述了当地犹太慈善机构如何利用这一天作为新项目的启动平台。

在他看来,JFCS 的 Mitzvah Market 走在正确的道路上,他说,与犹太组织正在尝试的其他电子资助举措相比,该市场与众不同。

“这是未来的发展方向,毫无疑问,”埃文斯说。 “捐助者希望能够轻松地做出贡献,这是一种很好、有趣且非常创新的方法。”迈尔斯说,JFCS“从头开始”开发了在线市场理念,并指出,虽然其他网站也采用了类似的概念,但“他们并没有”对于从多个计划中受益的人们来说,做事没有达到真正可以购买物品的水平。

“这确实是一种电子商务购物体验,”迈尔斯补充道。

JFCS 的领导人希望该网站能够鼓励年轻的犹太慈善家进行捐赠,研究表明,与年长的同行相比,他们对犹太事业的捐赠较少。

皮尤研究中心 2013 年的“犹太裔美国人的肖像”发现,全国 30 岁至 49 岁之间的非正统犹太人中只有 43% 为犹太事业捐款,而年长 20 岁的人中这一比例为 60%。

JFCS 机构发展副总裁兼成人礼市场创建者之一皮亚·艾森伯格 (Pia Eisenberg) 表示,新网站将吸引精通互联网的年轻捐助者,同时也让有孩子的家庭更深入地了解他们的捐款如何使用。

“家庭可以带着孩子到网站上说,‘我们去为有需要的家庭购物吧,’”艾森伯格说。这样,父母“可以与孩子分享真正的教学时刻”。

Chinese

JFCS to Launch Online ‘Mitzvah Market‘

Date: November 19, 2014
By: Amishai Gottlieb

Donating a mattress to someone in need? $18.
Providing a winter care package for a struggling family? $500.
Seeing exactly where your charitable dollars are going and teaching your children about giving along the way? Priceless.Market

At least, that’s the goal Jewish Family and Children’s Services of Greater Philadelphia is aiming for when the group launches its new online “Mitzvah Market” on Dec. 2.

The market, which will be accessible through jfcsphilly.org, will offer individual donors the option to purchase any of 55 items that will go directly to one of seven JFCS service areas, including Holocaust survivors and older adults, people with disabilities, children and teens and critical needs.

“The goal is to make giving current, the way people are engaging now,” said Suzanne Myers, JFCS’s vice president of marketing and communications. “People want to be really involved in how they give their money.”

The agency contemplated launching the market as part of its new website, which is scheduled to be unveiled at the end of December. But officials decided to push the market’s opening to coincide with #GivingTuesday, which was designed to create a national and international movement focused on charitable giving following the post-Thanksgiving spending sprees of Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

“We really wanted to take advantage of #GivingTuesday and the momentum it’s gained,” Myers explained.

Robert Evans, president of the Willow Grove-based Evans Consulting Group and a member of the Giving USA editorial review board, recently penned an opinion piece in the Jewish Exponent titled “#GivingTuesday Is Around the Corner: Are You Ready?” in which he outlined ways local Jewish charities could use the day as a launching pad for new projects.

In his opinion, JFCS is on the right track with its Mitzvah Market, which he said is distinct compared with other e-funding initiatives that Jewish organizations are experimenting with.

“This is the way of the future, there’s no question about it,” said Evans. “Donors are looking for ease of contributing, and this is a good, interesting approach that’s very innovative.”JFCS developed the online market idea “from scratch,” Myers said, noting that while other sites utilize a similar concept, “they weren’t doing things to this level where you can really shop for items” for people who benefit from multiple programs.

“This is authentically an e-commerce shopping experience,” Myers added.

JFCS’s leaders hope that the site will encourage giving among younger Jewish philanthropists, who, studies show, give less to Jewish causes than their older counterparts.

The Pew Research Center’s 2013 “Portrait of Jewish Americans” found that just 43 percent of non-Orthodox Jews between the ages of 30 and 49 nationwide donates to any Jewish cause, compared to 60 percent among those 20 years their senior.

Pia Eisenberg, vice president of institutional advancement at JFCS and one of the Mitzvah Market’s creators, said the new site will appeal to younger Internet-savvy donors while also allowing families with children to gain a deeper understanding of how their donations are being used.

“Families can go on the site with their children and say, ‘Lets go shopping for a family in need,’ ” Eisenberg said. This way, parents “can share a real teaching moment with their child.”