Parenting Education

happy smiling family

JFCS parenting classes offer the opportunity to learn and adopt the problem-solving skills necessary to build a healthy family. Various themed classes, each of which includes 6-12 sessions, are available for Philadelphia residents to explore, develop, and reinforce positive parental practices. Classes highlight the importance of fostering intentional habits that nurture healthy physical and emotional development. Techniques utilized in teaching constructive parent engagement include role playing, videos, worksheets, handbooks, and assessments.

Through the School District of Philadelphia, JFCS also offers ELECT (Education Leading to Employment and Career Training), a District-funded program that assists expectant, custodial and non-custodial young parents (male and female) under 22 years of age in obtaining a high school diploma or its equivalent. Supportive services are designed to help expecting and parenting students remain in school and maintain regular attendance, earn a high school diploma or GED, and secure further education, training, or employment.

JFCS, through the ELECT program, provides support to help expecting and parenting students improve their parenting skills and become successful and self-sufficient adults.

Services are provided to promote the importance of healthy parental relationships and encourage the significance of fathers in their children’s lives.

Parenting classes are for:

  • Teens or expecting teens
  • Parents with children 5 years and under
  • Parents with elementary and middle school year children
  • Parents with adolescent to young adult children
  • Fathers only

Parenting class topics include:

  • Academic readiness
  • Anger and violence
  • Building healthy parent-child relationships
  • Child development
  • Healthy communication
  • Managing challenging behaviors
  • Nurturing parents
  • Positive discipline
  • Self-esteem
  • Social and emotional coaching
  • Strengthening families
  • Trauma-informed parenting

JFCS also provides additional parenting resources and support, and awards stipends for successful completion of some programs.

To learn more about parenting workshops, contact Melissa Blackson, Administrative Coordinator & ELECT Data Coordinator, at 215.356.1851 or mblackson@jfcsphilly.org.

Our Staff

Adrienne Tomlinson, Director, Education & Outreach Services – atomlinson@jfcsphilly.org

Melissa Blackson, Administrative Coordinator & ELECT Data Coordinator – mblackson@jfcsphilly.org

Shamera Boozer, ELECT Case Manager – sboozer@jfcsphilly.org

Denise Crosby, Parenting Education & ELECT Program Manager – dcrosby@jfcsphilly.org

Lynette Ellis, Parenting Education Supervisor – lellis@jfcsphilly.org

Hallie Goosenberg, ELECT Case Manager – hgoosenberg@jfcsphilly.org

Charlane Lee, ELECT Case Manager – clee@jfcsphilly.org

Regina Prosser, ELECT Recruitment & Training Supervisor – rprosser@jfcsphilly.org

Arthur Russell, ELECT Case Manager – arussell@jfcsphilly.org

Shiree Russell, ELECT Team Supervisor – srussell@jfcsphilly.org

Zakiyyah Snead, ELECT Case Manager – zsnead@jfcsphilly.org