滚动顶部

费城骄傲周呈现犹太色彩

彩虹旗布满街道,骄傲周是为期 7 天的庆祝女同性恋、男同性恋、双性恋、跨性别者、酷儿/质疑和无性恋/盟友的活动,于 6 月 14 日以第 27 届年度费城骄傲游行正式拉开帷幕。费城的犹太社区通过两项活动表达了对节日和参与者的支持和参与。事实上,犹太人对该节日的第一份贡献实际上是在几天前,以 6 月 12 日在美国犹太历史国家博物馆举办的 J. Proud 安息日晚宴为幌子。

来自各个年龄段的约 70 名嘉宾参加了由 J. Proud 主办的活动,J. Proud 是费城 LGBTQA 联盟,由 20 多家机构组成,并由犹太家庭和儿童服务处协调。客人们享用了由 Rachel Klein 和她的南费城餐厅 Miss Rachel's Pantry 提供的素食餐,演讲者包括州众议员 Brian Sims(D 区 182)和以色列驻大西洋中部地区副总领事 Elad Strohmayer。

“这是一个令人惊奇、美丽的夜晚,”JFCS LGBTQ 计划主任菲尼克斯·施奈德 (Phoenix Schneider) 说道,该计划于一年多前创办了 J. Proud。

博物馆捐赠者关系和特别活动高级经理朱莉·泰勒(Julie Taylor)表示,这也是一次独特的活动,因为博物馆本身改变了自己的规则来举办活动——由于安息日,它通常不会在周五晚上举办活动。泰勒补充说,让博物馆主办这次活动代表了其成为一个包容性空间的目标。

她说,晚宴是“进一步推动这一目标的好地方”,并提供了一个支持性的社区。 “很高兴与家人和社区一起在博物馆度过传统的时光。”

该活动由 J. Proud 活动委员会组织,成员包括 Schneider; Steven Share,Spectrum Philly 项目经理;沃伦·霍夫曼 (Warren Hoffman),大费城犹太联合会社区规划副主任。

施耐德说,斯特罗梅耶谈到了以色列的进步,并将其与特拉维夫的骄傲周与费城的骄傲周同时举行这一事实联系起来,而西姆斯则谈到了全州范围内的问题——“我们现在在做什么,就保护和包容 LGBTQ 人群而言,需要做的工作,”他解释道。

“当我想到这一点时,这真是一个特别的夜晚,”施奈德说。西姆斯和斯特罗梅耶“非常了不起。当他们讲话时,我正在扫视整个房间,人们都非常专注——我可以看出他们感到受到启发和相互联系。”

施耐德表示,创造这种联系和社区感觉是 J. Proud 当晚和骄傲周的目标。

他说:“我们对当晚的成功感到非常自豪,因为我的成功不是基于数字,而是基于与会者的评价。” “我仍然接到人们打来的电话,他们敞开心扉讲述这个夜晚是多么特别,以及社区多么需要这个夜晚。”

施耐德表示,他希望晚宴能够与 J. Proud 每年为光明节和逾越节举办的活动一起成为一年一度的活动。

该财团也是周日参加骄傲游行的唯一官方犹太组织,队伍人数在 40 至 50 人之间。

“我们的目标是为 LGBTQ 犹太人创造一个聚集、庆祝、联系的空间,让他们感觉自己可以自由地做真正的自己,而不仅仅是一个庆祝成为犹太人或庆祝成为 LGBTQ 的空间,而是一个庆祝成为犹太人和 LGBTQ 的空间。 ,”施奈德说。

另一项值得注意的骄傲周活动是大卫·卡特出现在独立分馆免费图书馆。

卡特正在撰写 LGBT 历史上最著名的犹太人物之一弗兰克·卡梅尼 (Frank Kameny) 的传记。卡梅尼被认为是 LGBT 运动的联合创始人之一,并于 1965 年负责在费城市政厅外组织首届年度提醒活动,他将于本月晚些时候因其杰出贡献而入选美国劳工部荣誉堂。努力消除工作场所的歧视。

卡特此前曾撰写过有关该运动的其他著名人物和事件的书籍,例如 1969 年的石墙骚乱,他于 2006 年首次开始采访卡梅尼。

“我在脑海中反复思考下一步要写什么,弗兰克的简历不断浮现,”卡特说。

一天晚上吃过晚饭后,他决定通过这个人来追溯 LBGT 运动的历史。他与该运动起源的另一位关键人物芭芭拉·吉廷斯(Barbara Gittings)和凯·托宾(Kay Tobin)合作。卡特称赞这两位女士帮助他找到了他使用的信息和照片。

与卡梅尼合作并对其进行了至少 40 次采访,帮助卡特建立了一种他称之为“特权”的关系。

“我认为当你写一个人的传记时,你有机会真正了解这个人,这对于传记作家来说真的是无价的,”卡特解释道。 “我得出的结论是,他不仅是美国运动历史上最重要的人物,也是海外运动史上最重要的人物。我认为他是一个高耸的人物。”

1957 年,卡梅尼因性取向被美国陆军地图服务部门解雇,这促使他参与 LGBT 运动的起源,包括在华盛顿特区创立马塔辛协会、参加纽约市的示威活动并让人们报名参加争取同性恋权利的艰苦斗争。

“他没有让自己分心,总是尽其所能为 LGBT 人群实现平等,”卡特说。 “弗兰克想用他的犬齿咬住联邦政府的小腿肌肉,直到山姆大叔对他说‘叔叔’。”

他告诉托宾,让卡梅尼几十年来一直坚持不懈的想法是“如果他能改变一个人的想法,那就值得去做”,他常常面对无情的反对和冷漠。

接触: mstern@jewishexponent.com (215-832-0740).

Chinese

Philly Pride Week Takes on a Jewish Tinge

Rainbow flags filled the streets as Pride Week, a seven-day celebration of all things lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer/questioning and asexual/ally, officially kicked off June 14 with the 27th annual Philly Pride parade. Philadelphia’s Jewish community showed its support and engagement with the festival and participants through two events. The first Jewish contribution to the festival actually came a few days earlier in the guise of the J. Proud Shabbat dinner at the National Museum of American Jewish History on June 12.

Some 70 guests from across all generations came to the event hosted by J. Proud, a Philly LGBTQA consortium of more than 20 institutions coordinated by the Jewish Family and Children’s Service. Guests were treated to a vegan meal courtesy of Rachel Klein and her South Philly restaurant, Miss Rachel’s Pantry, and speakers included state Rep. Brian Sims (D-District 182) and Deputy Consul General of Israel to the Mid-Atlantic Region Elad Strohmayer.

“It was an amazing, beautiful night,” said Phoenix Schneider, director of the LGBTQ Initiative for JFCS, which started J. Proud a little over a year ago.

It was also a unique event in that the museum itself bent its own rules to host the event — it does not generally do events on Friday nights because of Shabbat, said Julie Taylor, senior manager of donor relations and special events at the museum. Taylor added that having the museum host the event was representative of its goal to become an all-inclusive space.

The dinner was a “great place to further that” and provide a supportive community, she said. “It was nice to spend that traditional time with families and their communities together at the museum.”

The event was organized by the J. Proud event committee, comprised of Schneider; Steven Share, project manager for Spectrum Philly; and Warren Hoffman, associate director of community programming for the Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia.

Strohmayer talked about progress in Israel and related it to the fact that Pride Week in Tel Aviv is happening at the same time as Philadelphia’s, Schneider said, while Sims talked about issues on a statewide scale — “what are we doing now, what is the work that needs to be done as far as protecting and including LGBTQ folks,” he explained.

“When I think about it, it was really a special evening,” Schneider said. Sims and Strohmayer “were just remarkable. I was scanning the room when they were speaking and folks were just so tuned in — I could tell they were feeling inspired and connected.”

Creating that connection and feeling of community is what Schneider said was J. Proud’s goal for the evening and for Pride Week.

“We are really proud of the success of the evening because I base success not on the numbers but the testimonials of the attendees,” he said. “I’m still getting phone calls from people who are opening up about how special the night was and how needed the night was in the community.”

Schneider said he hopes the dinner will become an annual event alongside the programs J. Proud holds yearly for Chanukah and Passover.

The consortium was also the only official Jewish organization to march in the Pride Parade on Sunday, with a contingent of between 40 and 50 people.

“Our goal was to create a space for LGBTQ Jews to come together, celebrate, connect and feel like they could be free to be who they truly are and not just a space that’s celebrating being Jewish or celebrating being LGBTQ but celebrating being Jewish and LGBTQ,” said Schneider.

Another notable Pride Week event was David Carter’s appearance at the Independence Branch Free Library.

Carter is working on a biography of one of the most notable Jewish figures in LGBT history, Frank Kameny. Kameny, who is considered one of the co-founders of the LGBT movement and was responsible for organizing the first Annual Reminder outside Philadelphia City Hall in 1965, is set to be inducted into the U.S. Department of Labor’s Hall of Honor later this month for his work to end discrimination in the workplace.

Carter, who has previously written books on other notable figures and events about the movement, such as the Stonewall Riots in 1969, first began interviewing Kameny in 2006.

“I went back and forth in my mind of what I wanted to write next and a bio of Frank kept coming back up,” Carter said.

After dinner one night, he decided he could trace the history of the LBGT movement through this one person. He collaborated with Barbara Gittings, another key figure in the origins of the movement, and Kay Tobin. Carter credits both women for helping him find information and photos he used.

Working with Kameny and conducting at least 40 interviews with him helped Carter form a relationship he called a “privilege.”

“I think when you’re doing the biography of a person, you get the chance to really get to know the person and it’s really invaluable to a biographer,” Carter explained. “I’ve come to the conclusion that he was not only the most important person in the history of the movement for the U.S., but abroad as well. I think he is the towering figure.”

Kameny was fired from his job at the U.S. Army Map Service in 1957 because of his sexuality, which served as a catalyst for him to get involved with the LGBT movement’s origins, including founding the Mattachine Society in Washington D.C., attending demonstrations in New York City and signing people up to participate in the arduous struggle for gay rights.

“He didn’t let himself get distracted from always trying to do everything he could to achieve equality for LGBT people,” Carter said. “Frank wanted to sink his canine teeth to the calf muscle of the federal government until Uncle Sam said ‘uncle’ to him.”

What kept Kameny going for so many decades, often in the face of relentless opposition and indifference, he told Tobin, was the idea that “if he could change the mind of one person, it was worth doing.”

Contact: mstern@jewishexponent.com (215-832-0740).