Prevention Services

children sitting in a circle with a counselor

JFCS prevention services are designed to mitigate risk factors and enhance protective factors related to alcohol, tobacco, drug use, violence, gambling, and suicide. Our prevention classes and workshops teach skill development using universal prevention education programs. Each prevention program uses evidence-based curricula with the goal of equipping children and teens with the knowledge base, toolkit, and supportive environment to make the best decisions for their current and future health and well-being.

JFCS has prevention programs on the following topics for children and teens:

  • Bullying
  • Gambling
  • Healthy living
  • Life skills
  • Peer mediation
  • Peer pressure
  • Sexual behavior
  • Substance abuse
  • Substance use
  • Suicide
  • Teen dating safety
  • Teen pregnancy
  • Violence

Availability of programs varies by county. To determine availability in your county, please contact Administrative Coordinator Melissa Blackson at 215-356-1851.

Our Staff

Adrienne Tomlinson, Director, Education & Outreach Services – atomlinson@jfcsphilly.org

Danielle Albert, Prevention Specialist – dalbert@jfcsphilly.org

Melissa Blackson, Administrative Coordinator & ELECT Data Coordinator – mblackson@jfcsphilly.org

Orah Chasen, Prevention Specialist (Suicide) – ochasen@jfcsphilly.org

Alex Ingram, Prevention Specialist – aingram@jfcsphilly.org

Keisha Jordan, Prevention Specialist (Gambling) – kjordan@jfcsphilly.org

Kyle Kolbe, Prevention Specialist (Gambling) – kkolbe@jfcsphilly.org

Rachel Levy, Prevention Specialist (Suicide) – rlevy@jfcsphilly.org

Shannel Smalls, Prevention Specialist – ssmalls@jfcsphilly.org

Sheila Walker-Kurilla, Prevention Specialist – swalker@jfcsphilly.org

Kristi Watkins, Prevention Specialist – kwatkins@jfcsphilly.org