Support Groups

Meeting Of Support Group Having A Conversation

JFCS offers a wide range of support groups that allow those facing challenges to come together and heal through shared experience. Support groups provide a safe and comforting space to build community, find connection with others, and form a more supportive network. All of JFCS’ group facilitators are trained in trauma-informed care.

JFCS Support Groups

Art Therapy

For People Living with Disabilities, those in our Hoarding Support Program, older adults and Holocaust Survivors, children, and many more.

Bereavement

For individuals who have suffered the loss of a spouse or partner. Participants will find community, support, strength, and comfort in a warm and professionally guided discussion.

Bloom

For mothers of young children, exploring all aspects of motherhood from a real, therapeutic perspective. Bloom offers additional programs with an educational focus on maternal well-being and child rearing.

Hoarding

For individuals and family members coping with hoarding disorder and compulsive saving.

Women & Money

For women who want to learn about a wide range of financial topics, share tips and ideas, and alleviate stress and anxiety around money.


If fees are applicable, they are established on a case-by-case basis. If you are in need of assistance, please do not let financial concerns keep you from calling for help. Payment options may include a sliding scale, Medicare, and/or additional assistance.

Our Staff

Courtney Owen, LCSW, Director, Individual & Family Services – cowen@jfcsphilly.org

Rabbi Tsurah August, Staff Chaplain – taugust@jfcsphilly.org

Kara Castle, LCSW, Older Adult Mobile Therapist – kcastle@jfcsphilly.org

Carly Chodosh, LSW, Social Worker & Care Manager – cchodosh@jfcsphilly.org

Christina Comenos, LCSW, IFS Clinical Program Manager – ccomenos@jfcsphilly.org

Laura Flowers, LSW, Financial Empowerment Program Coordinator – lflowers@jfcsphilly.org

Debora King, MA, ATR-BC, LPC, Art Therapist – dking@jfcsphilly.org

Dara Leinweber, Hoarding Program Coordinator & Care Manager – dleinweber@jfcsphilly.org

Jasmin Romero, LSW, Care Manager – jromero@jfcsphilly.org