滚动顶部

JFCS 项目与作者 Liza Long 和布罗德斯基浓缩中心的专家小组一起

“我是亚当的母亲:精神疾病的无声斗争及其对家庭和社区的影响”5 月 19 日

大费城犹太家庭和儿童服务处 (JFCS) 将于 2017 年 5 月 19 日星期五在 JFCS 的新主线站点(位于 345 号新芭芭拉和哈维布罗德斯基丰富中心)举办弗兰和埃利奥特·凯恩纪念讲座节目宾夕法尼亚州巴拉辛维德的蒙哥马利大道。该小组项目的标题是“我是亚当的母亲:精神疾病的无声斗争及其对家庭和社区的影响”,作者丽莎·朗和多元化的小组成员共同参与。他们将谈论自己患有精神疾病的经历、系统如何让儿童失望,以及如何加强对陷入困境的家庭的理解和支持。登记和早餐时间为上午 8:30,会议将从上午 9 点持续到中午。该活动向公众开放,将为专业人士提供三个 CEU 学分。

主讲人丽莎·朗 (Liza Long) 是一位充满热情的倡导者、教育家和四个孩子的母亲,居住在爱达荷州博伊西,她在一篇题为“我是亚当·兰扎的母亲”的匿名博客文章中讲述了康涅狄格州纽敦发生的学童惨遭枪击事件。桑迪胡克大屠杀的凶手。他杀死了他的母亲南希,然后是学校的孩子和老师,然后自杀了。当朗意识到她需要讲述自己的故事时,她写的帖子很快就被疯传。她是《沉默的代价:一位妈妈对精神疾病的看法》一书的作者,她的文章曾发表在《今日美国》、《今日心理学》和《时代》杂志上。朗在全国各地宣讲结束耻辱并为儿童和家庭提供真正解决方案的重要性。

小组成员包括 Lori Cooper、Melissa Hopely 和 Maria A. Dobinick。洛丽·库珀是一位公众人物,她公开分享她与精神疾病的斗争和胜利。她与拉比尼尔·库珀结婚,育有三个孩子和五个孙子。梅丽莎·霍普利 (Melissa Hopely) 是 Minding Your Mind 的励志演讲者、心理健康和反欺凌倡导者,也是《现实生活中遇到的人》一书的作者。 Maria A. Dobinick 在行为健康公共部门拥有丰富的经验,在学校行为健康项目以及行为健康支持在少年司法系统中的作用方面拥有专业知识。

JFCS 总裁/首席执行官 Paula Goldstein 分享了她对该计划的热情,并表示:“本次讲座是我们新的 JFCS Bala Cynwyd 网站的第一个社区教育论坛。这一新地点的目标之一是向公众提供这样的论坛,包括心理健康、饮食失调、残疾、老龄化、育儿、儿童安全等领域的专业人士。 “

Fran 和 Elliot Kane 纪念讲座是为了纪念 Fran Kane z”l(JFCS 的长期雇员、Senior Horizons 的创始护理经理之一)和 Elliot Kane z”l 博士(JFCS 临终关怀中心的长期奉献志愿者)而设立的程序。此次讲座的举办得益于弗兰·凯恩 (Fran Kane) 的妹妹娜塔莉·马科维茨 (Natalie Markowitz) 的慷慨捐赠。

该活动向公众和专业人士开放,参加者将获得三个 CEU 学分。门票价格为$36。如需提前注册,请访问 www.jfcsphilly.org/kanelecture 截至 2017 年 5 月 11 日。

Chinese

JFCS Program with Author Liza Long and Panel of Experts at Brodsky Enrichment Center

“I Am Adam’s Mother: The Unspoken Struggle of Mental Illness and the Impact on Family and Community” May 19

The Jewish Family and Children’s Service (JFCS) of Greater Philadelphia is presenting a Fran and Elliot Kane Memorial Lecture program on Friday May 19, 2017 at the new Main Line site of JFCS, located at the new Barbara and Harvey Brodsky Enrichment Center located at 345 Montgomery Avenue in Bala Cynwyd, PA. The panel program is titled “I Am Adam’s Mother: The Unspoken Struggle of Mental Illness and the Impact on Family and Community” with author Liza Long and a diverse panel of individuals. They will speak about their experiences with mental illness, how the system is failing children, and how to strengthen understanding and support of families who struggle. Registration and breakfast is at 8:30 a.m. and the conference will run from 9 a.m. to noon. The event is open to the public and will provide three CEU credits for professionals.

Keynote speaker, Liza Long, is a passionate advocate, educator, and mother of four based in Boise, Idaho who wrote about the tragic shooting of schoolchildren in Newtown, CT in an anonymous blog post titled, “I Am Adam Lanza’s Mother” about the murderer in the Sandy Hook massacre. He killed his mother, Nancy, and then children and teachers at the school before killing himself. The post written by Long quickly became viral when she realized she needed to tell her story. She is the author of “The Price of Silence: A Mom’s Perspective on Mental Illness,” and her essays have appeared in USA Today, Psychology Today, and Time.com. Long speaks across the country about the importance of ending stigma and providing real solutions for children and families.

Panelists include Lori Cooper, Melissa Hopely and Maria A. Dobinick. Lori Cooper is a public figure who openly shares her struggle and triumph with mental illness. She is married to Rabbi Neil Cooper and has three children and five grand- children. Melissa Hopely is a motivational speaker for Minding Your Mind, a mental health and anti-bullying advocate, and author of “The People You Meet in Real Life.” Maria A. Dobinick has vast experience in the behavioral health public sec- tor with expertise in school based behavioral health programs and the role of behavioral health supports within the juve- nile justice system.

Paula Goldstein, President/CEO of JFCS, shared her enthusiasm about this program and said, “This lecture serves as the first community education forum in our new JFCS Bala Cynwyd site. One of the goals of this new location is to bring forums such as this one, to the public including professionals working in the fields of mental health, eating disorders, disability, aging, parenting, children’s safety and so much more. “

The Fran and Elliot Kane Memorial Lecture is established in memory of Fran Kane z”l, a longtime employee of JFCS and one of the founding Care Managers for Senior Horizons, and Dr. Elliot Kane z”l, a longtime dedicated volunteer to JFCS’s Hospice Program. The lecture is made possible through a generous gift from Fran Kane’s sister, Natalie Markowitz.

The event is open to the general public as well as professionals who will receive three CEU credits for attending. Tickets cost $36. To register in advance, visit www.jfcsphilly.org/kanelecture by May 11, 2017.