滚动顶部

故意破坏。威胁。如何与孩子谈论社区中的仇恨

 

鉴于犹太社区正在发生的一切,大费城犹太家庭和儿童服务中心 (JFCS) 的社会工作者正在向家庭提供有用的沟通技巧,告诉他们如何与孩子讨论这一问题。 Robin Axelrod Sabag(LCSW、JFCS 咨询和治疗服务部助理主任)提供了这一建议。

关于如何与孩子谈论犹太学校和犹太中心发生的事情的 5 个技巧 

1. 保持冷静:如果大人感到焦虑或不知所措,孩子们也会感觉到。孩子会模仿父母的行为,所以表现得像例行公事,时刻牢记安全预防措施,孩子会感到更安全。

2. 给孩子们空间去感受他们的感受。尽量不要告诉孩子们的感受,而是让他们表达自己的担忧。只要在那里倾听并支持他们即可。验证孩子的感受。每个人都会经历不同的情绪,所以不要告诉每个孩子不要担心,而是说“我可以理解为什么你会有这种感觉”。 

3. 向儿童提供适合其年龄的信息。孩子们会从别人那里听到一些事情,但最好是从你那里听到。保持信息简单。尝试做好准备 孩子们提前了解未来几天可能发生的事情。准备好直接、诚实地回答问题。

4.给予孩子安心。让他们知道,虽然感到焦虑或害怕是可以的,但社区正在尽一切努力保证他们的安全。

5. 请记住,孩子是有适应能力的。尽管他们可能会在活动结束后感到害怕并想呆在家里,但重要的是他们尽快恢复正常和结构化的日常生活。

孩子们在发生此类事件后继续感到焦虑是正常的;但是,如果您发现他们的日常功能受到影响,那么您可能需要寻求更多专业支持。  

 

Chinese

Vandalism. Threats. How to Talk to Children About Hatred in the Community

 

In light of all that is happening in the Jewish Community, social workers from the Jewish Family and Children’s Services (JFCS) of Greater Philadelphia are providing helpful communication tips to families about how to discuss it with children. Robin Axelrod Sabag, LCSW, Assistant Director, JFCS Counseling and Therapeutic Services, has provided this advice.

5 Tips On How To Speak With Children Regarding What is Happening at Jewish Schools and Jewish Centers 

1. Stay Calm: If adults are feeling anxious or overwhelmed, the children will sense this.  Children imitate their parents’ behaviors, so acting like things are routine with safety precautions always in mind, the children will feel safer.

2. Allow children the space to feel whatever they are feeling.  Try not to tell children how to feel, but let them express their own concerns. Just be there to listen and support them.  Validate a child’s feelings.  Everyone experiences emotions differently, so instead of telling each child not to worry, say something like “I can understand why you might be feeling this way”. 

3. Give children information that is age appropriate.  Children hear things from others, but it is best if they hear it from you.  Keep information simple. Try to prepare children ahead of time about what might happen in the days to come.  Be prepared to answer questions directly and honestly.

4. Provide children with reassurance.  Let them know that although it is okay to be feel anxious or scared, that the community is doing everything in its power to keep them safe.

5. Remember that children are resilient.  Although they may feel scared and want to stay home after an event, it is important that they return to normalcy and their structured routine as soon as possible.

It is normal for children to continue to be anxious after an such  an event ; however,  if you find that their day to day functioning is being affected, then you might want reach out for more professional support.